Basilique Notre-Dame de Fourvière

I am surrounded by a spectrum of colour

The sun pierces through the miniscule mosaics

Illuminating the holy place with rainbows

Is that what it is like in heaven?

Colours upon colours, greater than Joseph’s cloak?

White is pure, but the golden gates will open to a new life

Each colour with its own story to tell

Are you there?

I can picture your prefect noir hair

Standing out amongst the crystalline whites and endless rainbows

Waiting for me at the top of the stairway.

Can you hear me?

As I sit in solitude with my head bowed, and my fingers intertwined

I pray that you are there

Gifting the angels with scents of roses, of lavender, and extract of coconut.

Every time I inhale the sweet aroma of perfume

I think of you.

Did you know that?

Do you know that now – now that you have found peace?
We all walk through the dark

But as the house of the Lord stands brighter than all the stars in the sky,

On the tallest hill

For all the city to see

I know that we are not alone.

For the Father watches over us all.

You and me.

 

dsc_6397

Leave a comment